As perfectly summarised in “The History of the Epworth Building” by James D Everett. Generations of South Australians have, as they walked the pavement of Pirie St or entered the building, stopped to read these words at the entrance to the Epworth Building.
In 1927, the Epworth Building was completed at a cost of £68,469 and Rev. William Hutchinson Robinson, 1869-1941 is credited as being one of the principal advocates for its erection.
Having been built as new administrative offices for the Methodist Church and Methodist Book Depot, it was also intended from the outset to lease a substantial portion of the building as business premises to provide revenue for the Church.
Throughout its history, the Epworth Building has been recognised for its architectural significance to the city of Adelaide. The unique federation gothic designed building is a seven storey ‘U’ shaped structure and was named the Epworth Building after the birthplace of John Wesley in Lincolnshire, England.
The building was designed by the architects English and Soward and in the 1960’s the building was extended to the rear with the construction of additional office space.
Over the years, the building had been an icon of the Methodist and Uniting churches and represented great faith in its future by those who conceived its erection.
In 2002, it was decided with heavy hearts that the Uniting Church in South Australia would gain both short and long term benefits if the building was sold.
Since then the building has continued to provide office accommodation to a variety of Adelaide businesses who remain closely connected to the building’s rich history.
In January 2014, the Epworth Building was sold again and now under new management, a new and exciting chapter has begun as new tenants are quickly filling this beautiful and iconic building.
As perfectly summarised in “The History of the Epworth Building” by James D Everett, generations of South Australians have, as they walked the pavement of Pirie St or entered the building, stopped to read the bronze plaque at the entrance of the building.